GB_1985

Musée Frédéric-Dumas, site historique (mise à jour juin 2023)


Frédéric Dumas  lors du tournage du « Monde sans soleil »

Historique par année





 

« The Frédéric-Dumas Museum »

By Camille Ricardon 1ère S3 et Jocelyn Trouyet 1ère S1 Lycée Langevin La Seyne-Sur-Mer 2015. (Photo Bernard Laire)

As you can see, the museum is situated next to the harbour.

The association « Musée Frédéric Dumas » was founded in 1994 by Barthélemy Rotger, a soldier, and Gérard Loridon, a diver. The museum was inaugurated the same year in the Roman tower, then a second show room opened its doors in 2005.The aim of this association is to collect, preserve and present to the public some objects and documents linked to the story of autonomous scuba diving.

The museum is named like that in memory of Frédéric Dumas who was a pioneer of the autonomous scuba-diving. He was also an underwater archaeologist.

The museum has two parts :

One contains the objects and documents linked to the techniques of scuba diving. The second part contains objects coming from modern submarine research, led by the « Jason Archeo sub » of Sanary.

Some collector items are unique in the world like the diving suit of the knight Pierre Rémy de Beauve made in 1715, the diving mask made by Frédéric Dumas in 1930 with an inner tube of tire or diving fins made by Georges Sérénon. »

By Camille Ricardon 1ère S3 Langevin et Jocelyn Trouyet 1ère S1 Langevin.

Texte écrit au printemps 2015: il s’agissait pour un groupe d’élèves du lycée Langevin de La Seyne sur Mer, Var, de présenter à un groupe d’élèves d’une autre section un lieu, une institution, en anglais. Nous avons trouvé leur façon de voir suffisamment concise et juste pour vous l’offrir.



 : 12 Rue Lauzet Aîné, 83110 Sanary-sur-Mer

 : 04 94 32 97 84